DROP- IN CENTER, T-TIME & SCHEDULE

Each Thursday from 6:30-9:00, Safe Homes hosts a Drop-In Center. Safe Homes provides dinner, social time, and the opportunity to discuss any concerns with our volunteer staff. The Drop-In Center is open to youth ages 14-23 and is free to all.

T-Time, a safe space for Trans* and gender non-conforming youth, is held on the first and third Thursdays of the month, from 5:30-6:30.  T-Time is open to youth ages 14-23 who identify as trans*, genderqueer, bigender, agender, intersex, gender non-conforming or questioning.

The schedule for the weekly Drop-in Center meetings is:

6:30 p.m. Informal gathering, dinner, opportunities to talk with staff

7:00 p.m. Announcements and Introductions

7:15 p.m. Programming (varies)

8:00 p.m. Dessert, socialization, opportunities to talk with staff

9:00 p.m. Closing

Programming at the Drop-in differs each week, allowing youth to choose from a wide variety of speakers, activities, and presentations. For example, participants listen to presentations on dating violence prevention, learn yoga and relaxation, and prepare for the Safe Homes table at a Youth Pride festival, to name a few!

Please Note: If Worcester Public Schools cancel school or call an early release on a Thursday because of Winter weather, Safe Homes will be closed that evening.

 
September
Thursday, September 7 - Safe Schools/ T-Time

Thursday, September 14 - Queer History                               

Thursday, September 21 - Safe Schools/ T-Time                                 

Thursday, September 28 - Coming Out/Open Discussion

October
Thursday, October 5 - Zen Zone with Mike/ T-Time

Thursday, October 12 - HIV Awareness with Jesse

Thursday, October 19 - Lip Sync Battle/ T-Time

Thursday, October 26 - Halloween Dance                         

November

Thursday, November 2 - Using Informed Language, Part 1/ T-Time

Thursday, November 9 - Queer Seniors Panel

Thursday, November 16 - Thanksgiving Dinner/ T-Time

Thursday, November 24 - CLOSED.  Happy Thanksgiving!

Thursday, November 30 - Sex Ed, STIs

 

All programs are overseen by the peer leaders, adult staff, and the program manager. If you have an idea for a Safe Homes program, please contact us.